SIO223
Schedule

WInter 2020


Class #  Date  In Class  Due Dates      Comments
 1  Tuesday Jan 7 Introduction, History/Practice of Observations       Topics chosen.
 2  Thursday  Jan 9 Writing compelling proposals
Guest lecture by Dr. Sharon Franks, Director, Research Proposal Development Service, UCSD
 3  Tuesday Jan 14 The Ocean as a Measurement Environment, Why observe? 
 
 4 Thursday  Jan 16 Experiment Design: The Turbulent Ocean

 5 Tuesday Jan 21 Written summaries due
6 Thursday  Jan 23 Presentations

 7Tuesday Jan 28 Presentations Postdoc written summaries due Jan 29
 8 Thursday  Jan 30 Presentations  
 9 Tuesday Feb 4 Discussion of all topics and group selection  
 10 Thursday Feb 6 Write scientific motivation    
 11 Tuesday Feb 11 Ocean Sciences - no class
 
 12 Thursday Feb 13 Ocean Sciences - no class  Draft scientific motivation due  
 13 Tuesday Feb 18 Experiment Design 1
 14 Thursday Feb 20 Experiment design 2  
 15 Tuesday Feb 25 In-class workshop on experiment designs  Draft Experiment Design due - BEFORE CLASS
 16 Thursday Feb 27 Matt Durham (SIO STS restech) - 30-45 minutes. Afterward, meet in groups and continue focusing ideas.  
 17 Tuesday Mar 4 Writing ship time requests    
 18 Thursday Mar 6 Pre cruise meeting Proposals due Friday  
 19 Tuesday Mar 11 The review/panel process  Special guest: NASA Program manager Eric Lindstrom!
 20 Thursday Mar 13 Life as a collegial scientist